Life Experiences

Job Hunting…

The job hunt continues with no luck… It has been one long discouraging journey…Filling out one job application after another, job interview after job interview and still no luck…

WHY CAN’T I GET A JOB?

I know why…

1.) I don’t have the experience. Even just applying for a job as a cashier or a sale associate I don’t have the experience… But are those the type of positions that you should be able to get without experience? (I have a lot of experience cleaning horse stalls and their paddocks, but that doesn’t really come in handy when you’re applying for a job in an office or in retail. You may be saying “Why not just get a job on a farm then?”, well, I realized that working with horses or animals isn’t really the direction I want to go in anymore…)

2.) I freeze up during interviews. 😰🙄 Why do I freeze up during interviews? Because I’m the type of person who needs to prepare ahead of time, and not really knowing what types of questions they are going to ask really throws me off.  Especially when the first thing the interviewer says is “tell me about yourself”. Ummmmm, this question makes me feel self-centered and uncomfortable. I really can’t sit there and tell them that I’m responsible, honest, punctual, independent, polite, etc.. People have said I am all of those things, but for it to come out of my own mouth just doesn’t feel right.

3.) Apparently, my resume needed some help…😳 I have a friend who has recently helped me fix my resume up a bit, so I’m curious to see if that will help a bit!

Job hunting isn’t easy and I don’t think it ever will be. There is always going to be someone out there that is better qualified for the position than you. But I do believe that there is a job waiting for me out there, I just haven’t found it yet. Maybe I’m not ready to find it yet. Maybe there are still some life lessons that I  need to learn before a job comes along.

So, as frustrating as it is, I will continue to trust that God knows what He is doing and that I will find a job when the time is right.

“For I know the plans I have for you – this is the Lord’s declaration – plans for your welfare, not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” -Jeremiah 29:11

“And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” -Philippians 4:19

 

Leave a Reply

